FOP Campaign to secure the Pay Plan - Letter Writing Campaign

PROPOSED LETTER TO LEGISLATORS

With the Legislature convening on Monday, January 23, FOP members are encouraged to

write letters to members of the Executive Offices and Criminal Justice Sub Appropriation

Committee. Below is a suggested format for letters and a listing of members of the

committee with their email addresses. Please be respectful and dignified in your requests.

 

COMMITTEE MEMBERS

 

Executive Offices and Criminal Justice Sub Appropriation

Sen. Daniel W. Thatcher, Chair – dthatcher@le.utah.gov

Rep. Eric K. Hutchings, Chair – ehutchings@le.utah.gov

Rep. Bruce R. Cutler, House Vice Chair – brucecutler@le.utah.gov

Sen. Curtis S. Bramble – cbramble@le.utah.gov

Rep. James A. Dunnigan – jdunningan@le.utah.gov

Sen. Margaret Dayton – mdayton@le.utah.gov

Rep. Brian S. King briansking@le.utah.gov

Sen. Lincoln Fillmore – lfillmore@le.utah.gov

Rep. Merrill F. Nelson mnelson@le.utah.gov

Sen. Jani Iwamoto – jiwamoto@le.utah.gov

Rep. Tim Quinn – Tquinn@le.utah.gov

Sen. Peter C. Knudson pknudson@le.utah.gov

Rep. Angela Romeroangelaromero@le.utah.gov

Sen. Ralph Okerlund ROKERLUND@le.utah.gov

Rep. V. Lowry Snow vlsnow@le.utah.gov

Rep. Logan Wilde – loganwilde@le.utah.gov

 

Your letter SHOULD NOT be a form letters. Legislators HATE form letters. Here is a format to

follow:

 

SAMPLE LETTER ONLY

 

Daniel W. Thatcher

Chair

Executive Offices and Criminal Justice Sub Appropriation Committee

 

Chair Thatcher:

 

First, may I thank you for the compensation package you approved for corrections last year. It

mean so much to me and my family. As a result I was able to spend more time with my 3 little

boys and less time working overtime to make a living. In addition, my husband and I have

had more time to strengthen our relationship. I so appreciate your efforts and the time you

spend away from your family in my behalf.

 

I am writing because as I am sure you know, the Governor has recommended 7.6 million

dollars be appropriated to the Department of Corrections. Approximately 5.6 million dollars

will be used to develop a career path which will give officers and agents working for the

Department of Corrections a compensation system comparable to similar systems in all the

cities and towns in Utah. While the proposed system is not perfect and does not benefit AP&

P agents the same way it does correctional officers, it is a big step in the right direction and

will it greatly enhance the ability to attract and retain new officers and agents into the

corrections.

 

This last year six correctional officers took their lives. Why there is no way to prove it, I feel

that a big reason for this was the pressure we are under as officers and agents. The

department is still requiring mandatory overtime because of the number of vacant positions

that the department is having a hard time filling because UDC can’t compete with the cities

and towns who all have career pay salary systems. The governor’s proposal if approved by

the Utah State Legislature will be a giant step in the right direction to reversing these trends

in the department.

 

As a person of influence, I would ask that you do all in your power to implement this pay

Plan

.

Sincerely,

Completa Underpaid

AP&P Agent

Region III

 

Again, now is the time to write these letters in the letter above is just a sample to assist you in

writing your own personalized letter to legislators. If you have any questions, please feel free

to contact Kelly Atkinson, Executive Director, FOP Lodge 14, 801 – 673 – 2861. The number

listed also receives text messages.

Print Print | Sitemap
© Fraternal Order of Police Lodge 14